Bethlehem Catholic Bethlehem Catholic

Fides et Scientia Award

Fides et Scientia
Faith and Knowledge

Bethlehem Catholic High School’s Fides et Scientia Award was established in 1995 and is presented annually to a person or persons who have given at least 10 years of dedicated service to the Becahi community. Recipients of this award are those who live their lives in a manner that exemplifies Christian values, dedication, loyalty, and service to Becahi.

Selection Criteria:

  • Recipient does not have to be a graduate of Bethlehem Catholic High School
  • Recipient must give a minimum of 10 years of service to the Becahi community
  • Recipient must exemplify dedication, loyalty, and service to Becahi
  • Recipient must live his/her life in a manner that exemplifies Christian values
  • The individual must serve our school in one or more of the following areas:
    • Religious programs
    • Athletics associations
    • Committee or board members
    • Booster Organization
    • Band Organization
    • Parent/Alumni Social Activities Groups
    • Dedicated Employee – Faculty, Administrative, Secretarial, etc.


1995: Bishop Thomas J. Welsh
1996: Mr. George Karabin ’41
1997: Sister Irma Loreto, SSJ
1998: Dr. Joseph Bartos and Mrs. Ethel (Daday) Bartos ’42
1998: Mr. Richard B. Culver
1999: Mrs. Cynthia Adams
2000: Miss Bernie Stanz
2001: Mrs. Jay Kardos
2002: Mr. Michael V. Palos ’69
2003: Mr. Adelino J. R. Tavares
2004: Mr. William McDonald ’52
2005: Mr. Raymond Gregorek
2006: Mr. Robert DeSilver
2007: Mr. Michael Grasso
2007: Mrs. Anna Marie Culver
2008: Mr. Anthony Iasiello
2009: Mrs. Mary Ellen White & Mrs. Jane Schortz
2010: Mr. Bernie Gallagher ’70
2011: Mr. J. Kenneth Grube
2012: Mr. and Mrs. David (Anne) Muething
2013: Mr. George Harmanos
2014: Father Bernard Ezaki
2015: Mrs. Janice Little
2016: Mr. Michael Tanczos ’78, Mr. Mark Tanczos ’81,
xxxxx Mr. Dan Tanczos ’83, and Mr. Dave Tanczos’85
2017: DJ Seibert ’87
2018: Maureen Thorley
2019: Mr. Tim McGorry
2020: Mr. John O’Boyle ’70
2021: Mrs. Ann M. Ruth
2022: Mrs. Angela Tully
2023: Mr. Ray Boris