Bethlehem Catholic Bethlehem Catholic

Clubs + Organizations

Bethlehem Catholic offers a wide variety of clubs and activities in which students can participate.  For additional information on any of the clubs or activities listed below, please contact the moderator or advisor listed beneath each entry.

3D Print & Design Club
Mr. Mark Wladyslawski, mwladyslawski@becahi.org

ACOP Filmmaking Program
Mrs. Diana Tice, dtice@becahi.org

American History Club
Mrs. Sue Stofanak, sstofanak@becahi.org
The club’s purpose is to increase the respect for American History and her citizens through guest speakers, round-table discussions and field trips. A recent example of a meeting included guest Korean and Vietnam War veterans who came and talked to the students. We have fantastic field trips that have included tours of Steel Stacks and the History of Bethlehem Museum, Washington D.C. and New York City.

Art Club
Ms. Olivia Miller, omiller@becahi.org

Band
Ms. Amy Flyte, aflyte@becahi.org

Band Front
Mrs. Chris Calantoni, ccalantoni@becahi.org

Becahi Jazz Band
Ms. Amy Flyte, aflyte@becahi.org

Becahi Percussion Ensemble
Ms. Amy Flyte, aflyte@becahi.org

Becahi String Orchestra
Ms. Amy Flyte, aflyte@becahi.org

Bowling Club
Mrs. Joy Baron jbaron@becahi.org & Mrs. Melissa Magliochetti, mmagliochetti@becahi.org

Chess Club
Mr. Jose Jimenez, jjimenez@becahi.org

Choir
Mrs. Rosemary Haber, choir@becahi.org

Creative Writing Club
Mr. Edward Tabor, etabor@becahi.org

Dance Team
Ms. Olivia Miller, omiller@becahi.org

Debate Team
Mr. Stephen Tomaszewski, stomaszewski@becahi.org

Eco Club
Mrs. Cathy Schneible, cschneible@becahi.org

Engineering Team
Mr. Mark Wladyslawski, mwladyslawski@becahi.org

French Club
Mrs. Melissa Magliochetti, mmagliochetti@becahi.org

Hawk Ambassadors
Mrs. Chris Calantoni, ccalantoni@becahi.org

Information Technology
Mrs. Sue Kurtz, skurtz@becahi.org

Intramurals
Mrs. Karen Redding, kredding@becahi.org & Mr. Stephen Tomaszewski,  stomaszewski@becahi.org

International Club
Mrs. Sue Kurtz, skurtz@becahi.org

Key Club
Mrs. Karen Redding, kredding@becahi.org

Literary Magazine
Ms. Oliva Miller, omiller@becahi.org

Math Club
Ms. Amy Solano, asolano@becahi.org

Medical Club
Mrs. Kelly Comber, kcomber@becahi.org

Mock Trial
Mrs. Heather Maigur, hmaigur@becahi.org
The PBA/YLD Mock Trial Competition is one of the largest in the nation, giving over 300 high school student teams from across the state of Pennsylvania the opportunity to act as lawyers and witnesses in simulated civil trials before actual judges and panels of juries. Lawyers volunteer to assist students as team advisers, scorekeepers, and regional coordinators. Each year, the winning team goes on to represent Pennsylvania in the national competition. Practices for Becahi’s Mock Trial Team begin in early October with our Law School Boot Camp and continue through to the Regional Competition, which is held between mid-January and mid-February.

Model UN
Mr. Joe DeAcetis, jdeacetis@becahi.org
Model UN is an educational simulation of the United Nations.  Students become delegates or representatives of UN member nations on various committees.  Within their committees, students present, discuss and debate resolutions, which they have written, in an attempt to solve world issues while staying true to the position of their nation.  At the conclusion of debate, resolutions are voted upon by the committee as a whole.  Committees are chaired by student moderators, who award outstanding delegates and their resolutions medals at the closing ceremony

National History Day
Mr. Stephen Tomaszewski, stomaszewski@becahi.org

National Honor Society
Ms. Debbie DeSanto, ddesanto@becahi.org

PJAS Science Fair
Mr. Mark Wladyslawski, mwladyslawski@becahi.org

Peer Listener Group
Mrs. Kathy Henry, khenry@becahi.org
Peer Listening is here to help students by discussing any issue of concern with them. Meetings take place one on one with upperclassmen who are trained and ready to help fellow students. Peer Listeners also participate in a mentoring program, checking in with new students at Becahi several times throughout the year. In addition, the group participates in multiple community service projects. Applications are distributed in the spring. Each applicant must be a rising sophomore, junior, or senior student, undergo an interview process, and attend the training program. To meet with a peer listener, contact Mrs. Henry or stop by her office in freshman hall.

Photography Club
Ms. Olivia Miller, omiller@becahi.org

Pro-Life Group
Mrs. Heather Maigur, hmaigur@becahi.org
The Pro-Life Group of Bethlehem Catholic High School is a student-led organization that promotes the value and dignity of every human life, from conception to natural death. Through the Pro-Life Group, students seek to educate their peers on contemporary life issues, advocate for pro-life causes, and partner with local organizations that support and serve those in need. Some of the group’s activities include attending the state and national Marches for Life, hosting baby supply drives for local crisis pregnancy centers, organizing pro-life speakers and educational events, and fundraising for local organizations that care for families in need. The mission of the Pro-Life Group of Bethlehem Catholic is to faithfully, intentionally, and prayerfully build up a culture of life in our school community and in society at large.

Prom Committee
Mrs. Christine Calantoni, ccalantoni@becahi.org

Psychology Club
Mrs. Melissa Magliochetti, mmagliochetti@becahi.org

Retreat Program
Fr. Bernard Ezaki, bezaki@becahi.org & Ms. Debbie DeSanto, ddesanto@becahi.org

Robotics Club
Mr. Raymond Klebs, rklebs@becahi.org

Scholastic Scrimmage
Ms. Sarah Kaczor, skaczor@becahi.org

Science Olympiad
Mrs. Kelly Comber, kcomber@becahi.org

Strategy & Tactics (Board Game) Club
Mr. Mark Wladyslawski, mwladyslawski@becahi.org

Student Council
Mrs. Melissa Magliochetti, mmagliochetti@becahi.org

The Movement
Mr. Stephen Tomaszewski, stomaszewski@becahi.org

Yearbook
Mrs. Madi Tomes, mtomes@becahi.org
Yearbook is an elective course open to juniors and seniors.  It is a student-led class that meets every day for a full period.  The yearbook staff is in charge of brainstorming, implementing, taking pictures, and creating the entire yearbook for the students of Becahi.  There are usually two editors who lead the staff.  Current juniors seeking a leadership role as Editor for the yearbook should speak with Mrs. Tomes to express interest.